I like my doilies a little dirty, gritty and unexpected. Can you imagine how excited I was to come across Polish urban artist NeSpoon’s work on Treehugger? NeSpoon’s spray-painted graffiti doilies, which appear to jut from their surfaces, are beautiful, elegant and feminine which is offset and enhanced by the crumbling and graffiti layered walls they’re painted on. If you were to ask me I’d have to say they are the perfect use of doily imagery.







The two images above are from this crazy abandoned monastery in Grottaglie Italy. See NeSpoon’s post to see more images of some of the art that adorns its walls. I would love to spend an afternoon or three wondering the rooms.

You can expect to see more posts from me about NeSpoon’s work. In the meantime check out her great blog here and more images of her work here.